The new year dawns

I wonder if I can make it right, Lord, in this new year.  I wonder if I can work harder, love better, eat less – all of those things that seem like resolutions, the things that the dawn of the new year holds as promise.  That promise is a fresh start and it seems like we need some sort of occasion to make it happen.

I’m thankful that a fresh start from you can and does begin every day.  Help me to remember that, in those times when I dwell in the shoulda-woulda-coulda moments and even years of my past that I too often re-hash.  This day, this year – it’s all new from you.  And you love me just as I am – I don’t have to start anywhere but right here.  One day, one step at a time closer to You.

I’m praying for those I know who need you so dearly, Lord.  Draw them close and help them to see you.  Let them know that they, too, can reach out to you right where they are – physically, emotionally, spiritually.

Leave a Reply

